Good Catch

I survived the patient-doctor trust fall. (Hmm, just realized  I’m not the patient! No matter!)

We had a really great appointment today. Bean scored so high on her biophysical profile that we didn’t need to do the non-stress test. Her heart rate and blood flow were perfect and she was moving, breathing, and had normal fluid levels. She scored an 8 out of 8 possible points. A high achiever already! Dr. M (the other Dr. M’s husband!) was personable and informed. He was really reassuring without being flippant. I felt much better and the rest of the day felt like a gift.

We had our last prenatal class tonight. I’m so glad we attended the classes, and I’m honestly not sure how people manage birth, newborn care, and breastfeeding without taking a class. I guess they read books, or talk with other parents. But for me it was much easier to have dedicated time for learning from trained experts who didn’t mind a barrage of “dumb” questions. It’s hard to know what you don’t know. Turns out I don’t know much at all about newborns!  We learned so much tonight and I am grateful we had the opportunity to prepare for the first few weeks of parenthood.

 

7 responses to “Good Catch

  1. I never took an ante-natal class…my OB/GYN advised me against taking one…though I now feel I should have enrolled for at least one class…but I was staying with my in-laws during my delivery and all the experienced moms in the family had something or the other to offer to me in form of advice.

    • Wow, that is so interesting that your OB advised against taking a class. Ours didn’t advise either way, but we did learn about the classes through the OB office. I know my mom and mother-in-law and all the women in our families will be a wealth of knowledge for us, too. But it was helpful to be with other new parents and learn together, and having trained nurses and doctors tell us about newborn care and breastfeeding was also really helpful. We also had the chance to hear about new research on newborns and breastfeeding — information that just wasn’t available to earlier generations of our family. I think our moms probably didn’t get a lot of support for breastfeeding, and we are lucky to live in an area (and an era) when breastfeeding is supported. We have access to free help at the hospital, just 10 minutes away.

    • Yes, we will send you class info. I think the classes would be fun. I really enjoyed them. We learned a ton about breastfeeding. It was really fascinating!

Leave a Reply

