Growth & Expansion

On Wednesday afternoon I raced to the bus stop, arms flailing awkwardly, back pack bouncing. The bus was late, which led to my chance encounter with Marcia Moonstar (not a pseudonym), who would probably say it was not a chance encounter at all. Marcia dashed over to the bus stop and asked me how long I’d been waiting. She looked anxious to get where she was going. She stood in the shade and chatted with a Somali woman who paced back and forth, constantly adjusting her hijab and occasionally issuing a tight-lipped smile. There was no shortage of nervous energy at the 48 bus stop on Wednesday.

After a few minutes, Marcia walked over to me and said “What kind of computer do you have?” Her emphasis on the word you led me to believe I’d tuned out a broader conversation about computers between the other women waiting for the 48.  A brief scan of the scene suggested otherwise. “I use a Mac,” I answered. She grimaced beneath the brim of her denim sunhat and said, “Those are expensive.” I agreed and fumbled with my phone. She told me about her new printer, and her need to call a woman in India to get assistance with the set up. She said she had struggled to understand the woman’s accent. I smiled and acknowledged it can be difficult sometimes. Then, tiny, wizened Marcia asked me

“So what’s your sign? I’m an astrologer. So, why did I want to come and talk to you?”

“Gemini,” I said.

Marcia punched me lightly in the arm and squealed and said, in rapid fire: “Gemini is the best sign! It’s in Jupiter right now! It’s a great time for personal growth and expansion. Are you planning something big?”

“I am. I’m getting married, graduating, moving, and expecting twins.”

“Wow! Great! Before June 25th?”

“No.”

She tilted her head. “Well, that’s okay, Gemini will be in Saturn after that, and that’s still good.”

Before I could respond the 48 arrived. Marcia gave me her card and told me to mention “48 bus stop” for a discounted reading in her home.

I sat in the back of the bus and texted R to tell her it’s a great time for growth and expansion. She agreed that she is expanding. I smiled.

4 responses to “Growth & Expansion

  1. Love it! Happy Mothershood Day to both you and R. I love your blog, A, and feel lucky to share your journey! Blessings to you both!

    • Aw thanks! My brother was going on and on and on about your granddaughter yesterday. He said she is so beautiful he just couldn’t take his eyes off her!

Leave a Reply

