Doubly yolked

Yesterday R’s mom (AKA Mimi) made breakfast and asked her husband whether he’d like two eggs or one. He chose one. Then she cracked open her own egg and out spilled two yolks. A few hours later, 2,375 miles away, her daughter sat nervously on a cold exam table and waited. The doctor entered the room, shook hands and began searching for a gestational sac. She found two, and the sweet flutter of a heartbeat in each one.

She cautioned against celebration, saying it is just too early to know how things will pan out. She strongly advised against telling anyone about our twins. We gave it some careful consideration, and then decided to let you in on the secret. Our babies are here, now, and we want to experience the full measure of joy they bring. If you can, please keep them in your thoughts and prayers.

23 responses to “Doubly yolked

  1. This brought tears to my eyes!! So happy for you! Many prayers sent up for a healthy and uneventful pregnancyπŸ˜„

      • I only checked the site about 1000 times:) But the grand debate of to tell or not to tell happens in most households. Glad all is well!

      • πŸ™‚ Yeah, we feel a little overexposed now, but part of the reason I started this blog was to help other women going through a similar battle. And this is the real story of the real battle.

  2. I’m so excited the only way I contain myself is frequent trips to Goodwill! I think they know me by name now. Love and prayers for the doubling of my number of grandkids.

  3. I’m so late to the game…overjoyed doesn’t even begin to describe my heart right now! I know a few things about twins πŸ™‚ and can’t wait to travel this road with you! Oh, wow…simply wish I could hug your neck. Praying for these sweet hearts.

    • Thank you, that is so sweet. We are thrilled, and hopeful, and terrified – all at once! πŸ™‚ I am sure we’ll need some experienced mommas tuning in, so thanks so much for stopping by.

  4. Pingback: Trust Fall | mothershood

Leave a Reply

