Journeys of the Heart: Heteros only need apply

To keep my hopes up, I contacted a local adoption agency, Journeys of the Heart.  That was silly of me. Apparently, journeys of the heart are not for gays. Here’s the reply from the Executive Director:

Hi,

Thanks for getting in touch with us.  None of the international programs will accept gay people.  We occasionally have a birth mother in our domestic program request a gay couple but that is rare.

We recommend Open Adoption and Family Services in Portland and Seattle because they regularly work with singles and gay couples.

I wish you the very best.

Best regards

Journeys of the Heart Adoption Services

10 responses to “Journeys of the Heart: Heteros only need apply

  1. Hi! Saw your post pop up in the adoption category. I’m sorry to hear you’re having so much difficulty and thought I might suggest you read through adoptionistas.com if you haven’t already (or contact them!). They are a two mom family who just adopted two gorgeous babies from Africa (and have done foster care in the past). I thought it might offer you some hope. Good luck!

  2. Oh, how sad. I can only hope our world’s journey of the heart experiences enlightened toward justice and love to the benefit of all humankind. There are so many children who would find love and security in the arms of you and R and other same-sex couples. May it be so and soon. With love and arms that reach our thousands of miles to hug you.

  3. !!!??? What unhelpful news, especially now.
    I do know that there are other agencies out there that work with GLBT families, but it’s frustrating to hear that this isn’t one of them.

    • Thanks, we are meeting with Amara, a solidly pro GLBT agency, tomorrow! I’m so happy we got an appointment so quickly. I had a great feeling about Amara when we went for orientation a year ago. But we just weren’t ready for the emotional risk involved in the foster to adoption process. I think we are more prepared now.

  4. Pingback: Baby Steps | mothershood

  5. Hey there, this is Emma from Adoptionistas.com – I replied to your comment on the blog, but I’m not sure if you saw it yet…I included an email address for you to reach us. Hoping we can help you out with some info on international possibilities!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

