Chumbawamba

There was just one line on the home pregnancy test this morning, and boy were we hoping for two. Testing is such a drag, but we have to do it so R can discontinue one of her medications and end the cycle. This month was our last try with the fresh goods. Now we are switching back to IUI with man in a can, which will be less stressful in some ways because we’ll be dealing with people who are paid a pretty penny to deal with us, rather than trying to chase down our very busy KD. But it will be so much more clinical, and far from how we hoped to conceive.

I think we’re both learning letting go of expectations and attachments to any particular path to parenthood. But I am not sure I can say we’re fully enjoying the journey. Nonetheless, we’re rolling with it.

This weekend I finished my first triathlon. It was a dizzying endeavor, and one that taught me I’m stronger than I think. During the cycling portion I took a corner too quickly and totally wiped out. My second worst fear was realized, and I heard the thundering sound of two hulking teenage boys running toward me as I struggled to get back on my feet. Once I was sure I hadn’t seriously injured any of my limbs, I jumped back on the bike and sped off, occasionally checking my leg to be sure the bleeding had stopped. Then I got an earworm of a song stuck in my head, that masterpiece Tubthumping by Chumbawamba.

I get knocked down, but I get up again, you’re never gonna keep me down…

After the fall I just laughed and sang Tubthumping for the remaining six miles of the ride. So bring it, life. Knock us down all you want. We’ll keep on riding.

3 responses to “Chumbawamba

  1. Wow, congrats on the triathalon! That’s impressive!
    I defintely empathize with your disappointment at having to move in a more clinical direction in terms of TTC, but it seems like the decreased stress could be worth a lot.

Leave a Reply

