I don’t need none of your bad news today

Patty Griffin is one of my favorite singer/songwriters. She is the kind of artist that has a song to fit most any moment of life. Today, her song ‘No bad news’ is echoing in my mind. To a beat suggestive of a woman shaking off a troublesome lover, or a happy, sweaty toddler running through the grass to escape his exasperated mother, Patty admonishes:

Don’t bring me bad news

No bad news

I don’t need none of your bad news today

And I’m singing this song to myself after our visit to Dr. S’s office, before which I was so hopeful and after which I was totally crushed. This month’s cycle was canceled. R’s egg was not mature enough to trigger and this was our only window of opportunity because we are traveling for the next several days. So now we have to wait another month to try again. Intellectually, I know that this is a minor setback on the path to parenthood. It might even be a bench for sitting awhile and taking in the view. But emotionally, it feels more like a insurmountable boulder that’s going to keep us marching in place for four weeks. I know that intellect will win this one, and I’ll join Patty in signing the last two lines of her song

And the bird of peace is flying over, she’s flying over

and coming in for a landing.

Leave a Reply

