Our date with the Reproductive Endocrinologist

I apologize for lack of posts in the past week or two. My lovely Mother-out-law was in town and we’ve been reveling with good food, wine, stories, and crafting. After years of failing at the delicate task of balancing work and life, I’ve decided that I’m not willing to let my work define me. This was a difficult conclusion, and one that warrants another post on another day. For now, let’s say that I’ve been filling my newly freed time with gardening, felting, sewing, and learning the guitar. Now, if I can only avoid the usual perfectionism quicksand, I’ll continue to enjoy the creative outlet these crafts afford me.

As you know, our first four cycles of AI have failed. Today is D-day for cycle 5. We will have IUI today or tomorrow, if the doctor says it’s a go. After much deliberating, we decided to seek the advice of a reproductive endocrinologist (RE). While we liked our obstetrician’s laid back and minimally invasive approach to achieving pregnancy, we are now feeling more inclined to be a bit more aggressive about this process. I can’t adequately describe the disappointment of seeing a negative pregnancy test month after month, and the sinking feeling that we’ve essentially gambled quite a bit of money and lost. We are hoping the RE will help us interpret R’s BBT charts, labs, and suggest some conservative approaches to improving the admittedly low probability of pregnancy with IUI.

Feeling a bit nervous about the visit, but will let you know how it goes!

 

Secret decoder ring:

AI: artificial insemination

BBT charts: basal body temperature charts–sites like fertility friend help women monitor their basal body temperature, cervical mucous, saliva patterns, and luteinizing hormone to accurately predict ovulation

IUI: intrauterine insemination.

One response to “Our date with the Reproductive Endocrinologist

Leave a Reply

